Conference Awards

Each year we select several awards for scholarly submissions and one award for our OSCM Distinguished Scholar.

Our Chan Hahn Best Paper Award is selected from all papers submitted to that year’s annual conference, whereas the Best Student Paper Award is selected from those submissions where the primary author is a student, as reported by the authors. The program chair, based primarily on reviewer ratings, selects four finalists for both awards. Then, two committees of four OSCM scholars choose the winner for each award, assessing their significance to the field of OSCM, the extent to which the paper is interesting and relevant, theoretical contribution to OSCM, and use of appropriate methodological rigor.

Our annual OSCM Distinguished Scholar award honors one leading scholar from our field each year. The awardee will be an internationally-recognized scholar in the OSCM domain. The extent to which the individual serves the field and is engaged with the Academy of Management OSCM community is also a consideration. The award is decided by a standing committee of 5 members, which periodically rotates and includes the Past Division Chair and Division Chair-Elect for each year.

OSCM Division 2016 Awards


2016 Distinguished Scholar Award

Prof. Kevin Linderman, University of Minnesota


2016 Chan Hahn Best Paper Award

Winner: “The Benefits and Downsides of Common Supply Chain Partners” : WINNER

Veronica H. Villena; Pennsylvania State University

Li Cheng; University of Tennessee


Impact of Heterogeneity in Task Environments on Individual Learning Curves”   

                Anand Nandkumar; Indian School of Business

                Kannan Srikanth; Singapore Management University

                Dutt Dev Harsha Tadikonda; University of Colorado, Boulder

“How Decomposable are Nearly Decomposable Systems? The Case of Locomotive Engine Failures”

                Akhil Bhardwaj; IE Business School – IE University

                Mikko Ketokivi; IE Business School – IE University

“The Impact of Supply Risk on Sustainability Monitoring Practices and Performance”

                Asad Shafiq; California State University, Fullerton

                Fraser Johnson; University of Western Ontario

                Robert D Klassen; University of Western Ontario

                Amrou Awaysheh; Indiana University


2016 Best Student Paper Award

Winner: “The Influence of Manufacturing Services on Innovation” : WINNER

                Sina Golara; Arizona State University

                Kevin Dooley; Arizona State University


Social Issues in Labour Supply Chain: Broker Imposed Servitude of Indian Immigrant Technology


Shrihari Suresh Sohani; Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad

Biju Varkkey; Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad

Strategy, Structure, and Performance: A study of U.S. Airline Industry”

Ting Yao; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Atul Nerkar; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Vinayak Deshpande; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Managerial Commitment and the Relationship between Controversy and Environmental Practice


Rick Hardcopf; University of Minnesota

Rachna Shah; University of Minnesota

Suvrat Dhanorkar; University of Minnesota


2016 Best Reviewer Awards

Christoph Bode, Mannheim University

Kate Hughes, Greenwich University

Deanna M. Kennedy, University of Washington, Bothell

Xiaosong (David) Peng, University of Houston


Past OSCM Division Paper Awards

(for past Distinguished Scholars, see this page: OSCM Distinguished Scholar).

Chan Hahn Best Paper Award

2015    Stephanie Eckerd, Sean Handley: “To Err is Human: A Model of Interorganizational Violations and Repair”

2014    John Gray, Sean Handley: “Managing Contract Manufacturer Quality when Product Testability is Low”

2013    Jeremy Kovach, Manpreet Hora: “Firm Performance in Dynamic Environments: The Role of Operational Slack and Operational Flexibility”

2012    John Gray, Gopesh Anand, Aleda Roth: “ISO 9000 as a Best Practice Intervention: An Empirical Examination”

2011    Anand Gopal, Manu Goyal, Serguei Netessine, Matthew Reindorp: “Impact of New Product Introduction on Plant Productivity”

2010    Dayna Simpson: “Organizational Information Gathering and Recycling Performance Outcomes”

2009    Rob Klassen, Markus Biehl: “Toward Assessing Financial Returns from Green Structural and Infrastructural Expenditures”

2008    Mile Terziovski and Shyong Wai Foon (U. of Melbourne)

2007    Xiande Zhao, Baofeng Huo, Jeff Hoi Yan Yeung (Chinese U. Hong Kong), and Barbara B. Flynn (Indiana)

2006    Xingxing Zu, Lawrence Fredendall, Tina Robbins (Clemson U.)

2007    None

2005    Ravi Kathuria (Chapman University)

2004    Adrian Choo (RPI), Kevin Lindermand (Minnesota) and Roger Schroeder (Minnesota)

2003    Mark Pagell (Oregon State) and Daniel Krause (Arizona State)

2002    None

2001    Mark Pagell and Chwen Sheu (Kansas State University)

2000    Morgan Swink and Dongsong Zeng (Michigan State University)

1999    Mohan Tatikonda (UNC) and Stephen Rosenthal (Boston U)

1998    Shaker Zahra (Georiga State University), Anders Nielsen (Aalborg University)

1997    1. Ken Boyer (DePaul University) / 2. Robert D. Klassen (University of Western Ontario) (two awards)

1996    Larry Menor, Aleda Roth and Charlotte Manson (UNC)

1995    Kim Bates (New York University) and Jim Flynn (Iowa State University)

Best Student Paper Award

2015    Desirée Van Dun, Celeste P.M. Wilderom: “Governing Highly Performing Lean Team Behaviors: A Mixed-Methods Longitudinal Study”

2014    Luv Sharma, Aravind Chandrasakeran, Ken Boyer: “The Impact of Hospital Information Technology Bundles on Performance: an Econometric Study”

2013    Marcus Bellamy, Soumen Ghosh, Manpreet Hora: “Supply network structure and firm innovation”

2012    Brett Massimino, John Gray: “The Effect of Culture and Cultural Distance on Plant-Level Process Compliance”

2011    Claire Senot, Aravind Chandrasekaran, Ken Boyer

2010    Heng Liu, Yi Liu, Yuan Li

2009    Pekka Helkio, Antti Tenhiala: “Beyond the Product-Process Matrix: Fit between Production Process Specificity and Task Environment”

2008    Bart van Hezewijk (RSM Erasmus U.)

2007    Anant Ravindra Deshpande (UT Pan American)

2006    None

2005    Andrea McGee Prud’homme (MSU), Ken Boyer (MSU), Roger Calantone (MSU)

2004    Gopesh Anand (OSU)

2003    Murat Kristal (UNC), Aleda Roth (UNC) and Jayashankar Swaminathan