Chan Hahn Best Paper

The Chan Hahn Best Paper Award is given to the best paper presented as part of the OSCM Division conference program.

Papers for this award are assessed on the following criteria:

  1. Significance of the paper to the field of Operations and Supply Chain Management (OSCM);
  2. The extent to which the paper is interesting and managerially relevant;
  3. Theoretical contribution to OSCM;
  4. Use of appropriate methodological rigor;
  5. Clarity of writing and/or presentation.

Finalists for the award are selected by the OSCM Division Program Chair based on the ratings and comments received from AOM conference reviewers.

The award winner is then chosen from these finalist papers by an independent committee following a blind review process.

2021 Chan Hahn Best Award

Winner: Ancillary Cost Implications of Multisiting and Organizational Boundary Spanning During Healthcare

Yingchao Lan, University of Nebraska; Deepa Wani, Georgia State University; Aravind Chandrasekaran, Ohio State University


Effects of Competition and Cooperation in Supplier Network on Buyer Innovation: An Ego Network View
Xiaotian Yang, Waseda University

The Root Causes of Servitization Challenges: An Organisational Boundary Perspective
Ali Ziaee Bigdeli, Aston Business School; Kawaljeet Kapoor, Aston Business School; Andreas Schroeder, Aston Business School; Omid Omidvarm Aston Business School

Integrating Machine Learning and Human Judgment: A Study on Demand Planning in the Field
Rebekah Brau, Brigham Young University; John Aloysius, University of Arkansas; Enno Siemsen, University of Wisconsin

Past Chan Hahn Best Paper Awards

2020    Veronica Haydee Villena, Miriam Michiko Wilhelm, Chengyong Xiao: "Untangling Drivers for Supplier Environmental and Social Responsibility"
2019    Arunachalam Narayanan, Alan Mackelprang, Manoj Malhotra: "Effect of Capacity and Flexibility Constraints on Bullwhip Effect in Supply Chains"
2018    Siqi Ma, John Aloysius, Li Hao: "Gender Pairing and Cooperative Behavior: An Experimental Study"
2017    Christoph Bode, Maximilian Merath: “Supply Disruption Management: The Early Bird Catches the Worm, but the Second Mouse Gets the Cheese?”
2016    Veronica H. Villena, Li Cheng “The Benefits and Downsides of Common Supply Chain Partners”
2015    Stephanie Eckerd, Sean Handley: “To Err is Human: A Model of Interorganizational Violations and Repair”
2014    John Gray, Sean Handley: “Managing Contract Manufacturer Quality when Product Testability is Low”
2013    Jeremy Kovach, Manpreet Hora: “Firm Performance in Dynamic Environments: The Role of Operational Slack and Operational Flexibility”
2012    John Gray, Gopesh Anand, Aleda Roth: “ISO 9000 as a Best Practice Intervention: An Empirical Examination”
2011    Anand Gopal, Manu Goyal, Serguei Netessine, Matthew Reindorp: “Impact of New Product Introduction on Plant Productivity”
2010    Dayna Simpson: “Organizational Information Gathering and Recycling Performance Outcomes”
2009    Rob Klassen, Markus Biehl: “Toward Assessing Financial Returns from Green Structural and Infrastructural Expenditures”
2008    Mile Terziovski and Shyong Wai Foon (U. of Melbourne)
2007    Xiande Zhao, Baofeng Huo, Jeff Hoi Yan Yeung (Chinese U. Hong Kong), and Barbara B. Flynn (Indiana)
2006    Xingxing Zu, Lawrence Fredendall, Tina Robbins (Clemson U.)
2007    None
2005    Ravi Kathuria (Chapman University)
2004    Adrian Choo (RPI), Kevin Lindermand (Minnesota) and Roger Schroeder (Minnesota)
2003    Mark Pagell (Oregon State) and Daniel Krause (Arizona State)
2002    None
2001    Mark Pagell and Chwen Sheu (Kansas State University)
2000    Morgan Swink and Dongsong Zeng (Michigan State University)
1999    Mohan Tatikonda (UNC) and Stephen Rosenthal (Boston U)
1998    Shaker Zahra (Georgia State University), Anders Nielsen (Aalborg University)
1997    1. Ken Boyer (DePaul University) / 2. Robert D. Klassen (University of Western Ontario) (two awards)
1996    Larry Menor, Aleda Roth and Charlotte Manson (UNC)
1995    Kim Bates (New York University) and Jim Flynn (Iowa State University)