2022 Consortium

Call for Participants

2022 Operations and Supply Chain Management (OSCM) Division

Junior Faculty and Doctoral Consortium


The OSCM Division is proud to announce a joint Junior Faculty and Doctoral Consortium at the Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management (AoM). This event will be held on Friday, August 5th, 2022, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


This consortium will feature in the division's conference professional development workshop (PDW) program. It has been helped doctoral students and junior faculty to further their research and build their professional network with peers and senior faculty. Students who have attended other conferences' doctoral consortia find this consortium uniquely beneficial due to the dual focus on developing research and social ties for both doctoral students and junior faculty.


PDW activities


Research incubator session

Doctoral students give a short 15-minute presentation about their research proposal and junior faculty will present their research programs describing how they are extending their dissertation research and/or starting new research streams. This setup allows senior and junior faculty to provide feedback and guidance as well as doctoral students to ask questions and learn about building a research identity.


Panel discussions for advancing your career

Panel discussions with various faculty from universities in multiple countries who will share their tips and advice on preparing to the job market, publishing & teaching, juggling family with career, collaborating, and ethical concerns.


Learning from the giant's session

A distinguished OSCM scholar will share her pathway to publishing in high-quality publishing outlets.


OSCM Social events

To help doctoral students and junior faculty to navigate the difficult task of integrating into the academic community after socially distanced pandemic conditions, senior scholars in our discipline will engage with consortium participants in various social events. Details coming soon.


Application process & timing

 Doctoral students and junior faculty doing research on any OSCM topic may participate. Preference will be given to those employing empirical research approaches. To apply, please send an e-mail to the relevant coordinator by May 31st, 2022 including (1) a cover letter including full contact information, your advisor's contact information (doctoral students only), and a one-sentence statement on your stage in the doctoral program (doctoral students only); (2) a current vita, and (3) a one-page summary of your dissertation research (doctoral students only) / research prospectus highlighting one main research proposal (junior faculty only). Applications will be acknowledged via email by the beginning of June. The consortium is a pre-registration event; all attendees must pre-register in accordance with instructions we will send out to accepted participants.


Financial support

Doctoral students and junior faculty in developing countries can apply by including a “letter of request” in their application. This letter should include a statement of their annual doctoral stipend or research/travel budget (signed by their academic advisor or supervisor) and a personal statement expressing estimates of requested travel costs with details. Please note that our budget is limited and will be shared among a couple of applicants. Grants will be communicated by the end of June, but please note that AOM holds the funds and only reimburses the grants after the conference.


Your consortium's coordinators

John Aloysius (aloysius@uark.edu) – for junior faculty

Maricela Arellano (maricela-connie.arellano-caro@hec.ca) – for doctoral students