Chan Hahn Best Paper

The Chan Hahn Best Paper Award is given to the best paper presented as part of the OSCM Division conference program.

Papers for this award are assessed on the following criteria:

  1. Significance of the paper to the field of Operations and Supply Chain Management (OSCM);
  2. The extent to which the paper is interesting and managerially relevant;
  3. Theoretical contribution to OSCM;
  4. Use of appropriate methodological rigor;
  5. Clarity of writing and/or presentation.

Finalists for the award are selected by the OSCM Division Program Chair based on the ratings and comments received from AOM conference reviewers.

The award winner is then chosen from these finalist papers by an independent committee following a blind review process.

2020 Chan Hahn Best Award

Winner: Untangling Drivers for Supplier Environmental and Social Responsibility
Veronica Haydee Villena, Pennsylvania State University; Miriam Michiko Wilhelm, University of Groningen; Chengyong Xiao, University of Groningen


Rare is Beautiful? Rare Technological Resources and Value Implications
Jeongsik Lee, Drexel University; Hyun Ju Jung, KAIST College of Business; Hyunwoo Park, Ohio State University

Which Supplier to Select for Product Development? A Node, Dyad, And Network Level Investigation
Yingchao Lan, University of Nebraska - Lincoln; Tingting Yan, Wayne State University; Brett Massimino, Virginia Commonwealth University

The effect of tariffs on inventory performance: The moderating role of supply base characteristics
Robert Wiedmer, Arizona State University; John-Patrick Paraskevas, Miami University

Past Chan Hahn Best Paper Awards

2019    Arunachalam Narayanan, Alan Mackelprang, Manoj Malhotra: "Effect of Capacity and Flexibility Constraints on Bullwhip Effect in Supply Chains"
2018    Siqi Ma, John Aloysius, Li Hao: "Gender Pairing and Cooperative Behavior: An Experimental Study"
2017    Christoph Bode, Maximilian Merath: “Supply Disruption Management: The Early Bird Catches the Worm, but the Second Mouse Gets the Cheese?”
2016    Veronica H. Villena, Li Cheng “The Benefits and Downsides of Common Supply Chain Partners”
2015    Stephanie Eckerd, Sean Handley: “To Err is Human: A Model of Interorganizational Violations and Repair”
2014    John Gray, Sean Handley: “Managing Contract Manufacturer Quality when Product Testability is Low”
2013    Jeremy Kovach, Manpreet Hora: “Firm Performance in Dynamic Environments: The Role of Operational Slack and Operational Flexibility”
2012    John Gray, Gopesh Anand, Aleda Roth: “ISO 9000 as a Best Practice Intervention: An Empirical Examination”
2011    Anand Gopal, Manu Goyal, Serguei Netessine, Matthew Reindorp: “Impact of New Product Introduction on Plant Productivity”
2010    Dayna Simpson: “Organizational Information Gathering and Recycling Performance Outcomes”
2009    Rob Klassen, Markus Biehl: “Toward Assessing Financial Returns from Green Structural and Infrastructural Expenditures”
2008    Mile Terziovski and Shyong Wai Foon (U. of Melbourne)
2007    Xiande Zhao, Baofeng Huo, Jeff Hoi Yan Yeung (Chinese U. Hong Kong), and Barbara B. Flynn (Indiana)
2006    Xingxing Zu, Lawrence Fredendall, Tina Robbins (Clemson U.)
2007    None
2005    Ravi Kathuria (Chapman University)
2004    Adrian Choo (RPI), Kevin Lindermand (Minnesota) and Roger Schroeder (Minnesota)
2003    Mark Pagell (Oregon State) and Daniel Krause (Arizona State)
2002    None
2001    Mark Pagell and Chwen Sheu (Kansas State University)
2000    Morgan Swink and Dongsong Zeng (Michigan State University)
1999    Mohan Tatikonda (UNC) and Stephen Rosenthal (Boston U)
1998    Shaker Zahra (Georgia State University), Anders Nielsen (Aalborg University)
1997    1. Ken Boyer (DePaul University) / 2. Robert D. Klassen (University of Western Ontario) (two awards)
1996    Larry Menor, Aleda Roth and Charlotte Manson (UNC)
1995    Kim Bates (New York University) and Jim Flynn (Iowa State University)