2021 Awards

Each year we select several awards for scholarly submissions and one award for our OSCM Distinguished Scholar.

Our Chan Hahn Best Paper Award are selected from all papers submitted to that year’s annual conference, whereas the Best Student Paper Award is selected from all submissions where the primary author is a student, as reported by the authors. The program chair, based primarily on reviewer ratings, selects four finalists for both awards. Then, two committees of four OSCM scholars choose the winner for each award.

Our annual OSCM Distinguished Scholar award honors one leading scholar from our field each year. The OSCM Scholar is selected for their commitment to both significant service and leading scholarship in the field. There is a standing committee, which periodically rotates, that selects these individuals. One member of this committee is the division-chair elect, and another is the past division chair.

2021 OSCM Distinguished Scholar Award

Lutz Kaufman, WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management

2021 Chan Hahn Best Award

Winner: Ancillary Cost Implications of Multisiting and Organizational Boundary Spanning During Healthcare
Yingchao Lan, University of Nebraska; Deepa Wani, Georgia State University; Aravind Chandrasekaran, Ohio State University


2021 Best Student Paper

Winner: Developing and Implementing Business Ecosystem Strategies - A Performance Measurement Perspective
Gurpreet Muctor, Warwick Business School; Pietro Micheli, Warwick Business School

2021 Best Supply Chain Paper Award (Sponsored by the Institute for Supply Management)

Winner: Winner: Supplier’s Network Churn, Buyer-Supplier Embeddedness, and Transaction Price Outcomes
Pankaj Kumar, Agnieszka Nowinska, Hans-Joachim Schramm

2021 Best Reviewer Award


Tejasav Kalra, Newcastle University Business School

Seongtae Kim, Aalto University School of Business

Justin Kistler, University of Tennessee

Juri Matinheikki, Aalto University School of Business

Honorable Mention:

Ednilson Bernardes, West Virginia University

Alan Mackelprang, Georgia Southern University

2021 Distinguished Service to OSCM Division

David Cantor, Iowa State University