2019 Awards

Each year we select several awards for scholarly submissions and one award for our OSCM Distinguished Scholar.

Our Chan Hahn Best Paper Award are selected from all papers submitted to that year’s annual conference, whereas the Best Student Paper Award is selected from all submissions where the primary author is a student, as reported by the authors. The program chair, based primarily on reviewer ratings, selects four finalists for both awards. Then, two committees of four OSCM scholars choose the winner for each award.

Our annual OSCM Distinguished Scholar award honors one leading scholar from our field each year. The OSCM Scholar is selected for their commitment to both significant service and leading scholarship in the field. There is a standing committee, which periodically rotates, that selects these individuals. One member of this committee is the division-chair elect, and another is the past division chair.

2019 OSCM Distinguished Scholar Award

Lisa Ellram, Miami University

2019 Chan Hahn Best Award

Winner: Effect of Capacity and Flexibility Constraints on Bullwhip Effect in Supply Chains
Arunachalam Narayanan, U. of North Texas; Alan Mackelprang, Georgia Southern U.; Manoj Malhotra, Case Western Reserve U.


Patent Grant Delays and Future Innovative Activities Param Pal Singh Chhabra, Georgia Institute of Technology; Manpreet Hora, Georgia Institute of Technology; Karthik Ramachandran, Georgia Institute of Technology

Scalability of Follower Bases on Social Media Platforms for Humanitarian Operations Eunae Yoo, U. of Tennessee; Elliot Rabinovich, Arizona State U.; Bin Gu, Arizona State U.

Hailing Rides Using On-Demand Mobility Platforms: What Motivates Consumers to Choose Pooling? Sergey Naumov, MIT Sloan School of Management; David R. Keith, MIT Sloan School of Management


2019 Best Student Paper

Winner: The Impact of Behavioral and Economic Drivers on Gig Economy Workers
Park Sinchaisri, University of Pennsylvania


The Effect of Unstable Schedules on Employee Turnover Productivity
Mohammad Mahdi Hashemian, MIT Sloan School of Management; Zeynep Ton, Harvard Business School

Differentiating Inter-Hospital Transfer Types: Varied Impacts on LOS and Destination Choice
Raymond Fan, U. of Houston; Ming Zhao, U. of Houston; Xiaosong Peng, U. of Houston

The Unintented Consequences of Health Policy: An Empirical Analysis of Opioid Prescribing Behavior
Justin Kistler, U. of South Carolina; Luv Sharma, U. of South Carolina

2019 Best Reviewer Award

Katie S. Wowak, U. of Notre Dame
Jas Kalra, U. of Bath
Virpi Turkulainen, University College, Dublin
Junhao Yu, U. of Minnesota


2019 Distinguished Service to OSCM Division

Manpreet Hora, Georgia Institute of Technology