Best Student Paper

The Best Student Paper Award is given to the best paper presented as part of the OSCM conference program with a student as the leading author.

Papers for this award are assessed on the following criteria:

  1. Significance of the paper to the field of Operations and Supply Chain Management (OSCM);
  2. The extent to which the paper is interesting and managerially relevant;
  3. Theoretical contribution to OSCM;
  4. Use of appropriate methodological rigor;
  5. Clarity of writing and/or presentation.

Finalists for the award are selected by the OSCM Division Program Chair based on the ratings and comments received from AOM conference reviewers. The award winner is then chosen from these finalist papers by an independent committee following a blind review process.

2019 Best Student Paper

Winner: The Impact of Behavioral and Economic Drivers on Gig Economy Workers
Park Sinchaisri, University of Pennsylvania


The Effect of Unstable Schedules on Employee Turnover Productivity
Mohammad Mahdi Hashemian, MIT Sloan School of Management; Zeynep Ton, Harvard Business School

Differentiating Inter-Hospital Transfer Types: Varied Impacts on LOS and Destination Choice
Raymond Fan, U. of Houston; Ming Zhao, U. of Houston; Xiaosong Peng, U. of Houston

The Unintented Consequences of Health Policy: An Empirical Analysis of Opioid Prescribing Behavior
Justin Kistler, U. of South Carolina; Luv Sharma, U. of South Carolina

Past Best Student Paper Awards

2018    Stefan Kurpjuweit: "Partnering with New Venture Suppliers: A Dynamic Capabilities Approach"
2017    James Knuckles, ManMohan Sodhi: “A Multiple Case Study of Development Supply Chains for Household Solar Products Sold in Haiti”
2016    Sina Golara, Kevin Dooley: “The Influence of Manufacturing Services on Innovation”
2015    Desirée van Dun, Celeste Wilderom: “Governing Highly Performing Lean Team Behaviors: A Mixed-Methods Longitudinal Study”
2014    Luv Sharma, Aravind Chandrasakeran, Ken Boyer: “The Impact of Hospital Information Technology Bundles on Performance: an Econometric Study”
2013    Marcus Bellamy, Soumen Ghosh, Manpreet Hora: “Supply network structure and firm innovation”
2012    Brett Massimino, John Gray: “The Effect of Culture and Cultural Distance on Plant-Level Process Compliance”
2011    Claire Senot, Aravind Chandrasekaran, Ken Boyer
2010    Heng Liu, Yi Liu, Yuan Li
2009    Pekka Helkio, Antti Tenhiala: “Beyond the Product-Process Matrix: Fit between Production Process Specificity and Task Environment”
2008    Bart van Hezewijk (RSM Erasmus U.)
2007    Anant Ravindra Deshpande (UT Pan American)
2006    None
2005    Andrea McGee Prud’homme (MSU), Ken Boyer (MSU), Roger Calantone (MSU)
2004    Gopesh Anand (OSU)
2003    Murat Kristal (UNC), Aleda Roth (UNC) and Jayashankar Swaminathan