View Thread

Grigor McClelland Award 2021

  • 1.  Grigor McClelland Award 2021

    Posted 01-19-2021 04:53

    The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award is an annual prize of £5,000 awarded to innovative scholarship demonstrated within a PhD or DBA thesis in any discipline within management and organisation studies. The award is supported by the Journal of Management Studies (JMS) and the Society for the Advancement of Management Studies (SAMS), a charitable organisation which supports capacity building in business and management research.

    Grigor McClelland was the founder of SAMS, the founding editor of JMS, and the founding Director of Manchester Business School.


    The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award aims to promote and recognize innovative PhD or DBA research in management and organization studies. The Award does not specify any preference towards topic or method; its primary focus is to recognize and award doctoral research that is expansive and imaginative in that it covers significantly new terrain or counters existing thinking within management and organisational research.


    To be eligible for the 2021 Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award, candidates must have completed their doctoral dissertation and received the final award of their PhD or DBA within 2020.

    Application process

    Candidates who wish to be considered for the award are asked to submit:

    1. One fully completed application form.

    2. One digital copy of their entire dissertation in English.

      3. An extended abstract of up to 5 pages, single-spaced, (any tables or references are included in the page limit). The abstract should:
      a. summarise the thesis and detail the originality of the theory development and empirical results as well as the implications for research and practice.
      b. be a separate document that does not mention the author's name, degree-granting university, or current employment.
      c. identify the 3 to 5 most important conclusions.
      d. not state that some sections of the dissertation have been published, reviewed favourably by journals, or submitted for publication.

      4. Proof of the final award of their qualification (i.e. certificate/transcript, or similar).

    Applications for the award should be electronically submitted to Joanne Cheseldine, ( before 16:00 GMT on 28th February, 2021.

    Application form available here: Grigor Award Application Form 21

    Award Committee and Judging Process

    The shortlisting and selection of the award winner will be carried out by a panel of senior scholars within management and organization studies. The panel consists of representatives from SAMS, JMS and EGOS. The prize will be awarded to the work that, in the opinion of the panel, was truly novel and creative in its theory development, use of methods or the empirical contexts covered in the dissertation.

    The winner will be announced during a special session at the 2021 EGOS conference. In this session the shortlisted candidates for the award will present their research. Finalists will be invited to submit a paper based on their thesis for publication in the Journal of Management Studies. A stipend will be awarded to each of the finalists to cover conference registration.

    Previous Winners

    Ivar Padrón Hernández, Hitotsubashi University, Japan

    Corinna Frey-Heger, Erasmus University, the Netherlands

    2018: Pedro Monteiro, University of Warwick, UK

    2017: Julia DiBenigno, Yale University, USA

    2016: Douglas Lepisto, Western Michigan University, USA

    2015: Hila Lifshitz-Assaf, New York University, USA

    2014: Ryan Raffaelli, Harvard Business School, USA

    2013: Henrika Franck, Hanken School of Economics, Finland

    2012: Tyler Wry, University of Pennsylvania, USA

    2011: Jean-Philippe Vergne, Western University, Canada


    Joanne Cheseldine
    Journal of Managment Studies