Operations and Supply Chain Management Distinguished Scholar Award

Each year our Division bestows a Distinguished Scholar Award to a leading global scholar in our community. This award is intended to serve a dual purpose. The first is to honor distinguished leaders in the field of operations and supply chain management scholarship. Second, the award helps define the unique position of the OSCM division at the Academy of Management within the larger field of OSCM scholars. The award has two primary criteria - 1. to recognize commitment to serve the operations and supply chain field, both as a whole and within the Academy of Management, and 2. to honor scholarly excellence which has helped to shape both the field’s body of knowledge and practice. The OSCM division promotes research on important and broad problems, with a focus on empirical research that is often cross-disciplinary. The Distinguished Scholar award offers an opportunity to highlight, define and honor scholars that emphasize this focus.

Current OSCM Distinguished Scholars

Kevin Linderman

2016 OSCM Distinguished Scholar

Kevin Linderman, University of Minnesota 

Kevin Linderman is a Professor of Supply Chain & Operations with a BA in Mathematics and Philosophy from Minnesota State University, MS in Mathematics from Miami University, an MS in Management Science at Case Western Reserve University, and a PhD in Operations from Case Western Reserve University. His research has been supported by a National Science Foundation grant. He has won a number of research awards including the Chan Hahn Distinguished Paper Award, Elwood S. Buffa Doctoral Dissertation Competition Winner (Co-Advisor), Carlson School of Management Research Award, and Journal of Operations Management Top Cited Article Award. His publications have appeared in Management Science, Journal of Operations Management, Decision Science, IIE Transactions, European Journal of Operations Research, Journal of Quality Technology, and Journal of Statistical Computation and Simulation. His research interests in supply chain and operations include quality management, six sigma, lean, innovation, knowledge management, high-tech organizations, and environmental operations.

Elliot Bendoly

2015 OSCM Distinguished Scholar

Elliot Bendoly, Ohio State U.

Dr. Elliot Bendoly is a Professor in the Management Sciences department of the Fisher College of Business, at the Ohio State University. Before joining Fisher, Dr. Bendoly was the Caldwell Research Fellow and Associate Professor in Information Systems and Operations Management at the Goizueta Business School of Emory University. Prior to pursuing his PhD at Indiana University, he worked as research engineer for the Intel Corporation. The professor serves as Senior Editor at the Production and Operations Management journal (Behavioral Operations and Management of Technology departments) and as Associate Editor for the Journal of Operations Management. His own publications in POM and JOM, combined with his works in Information Systems Research, MIS Quarterly and Journal of Applied Psychology, represent no less than 22 published academic articles. An additional 28 articles appear other well-regarded peer review outs. He is the author of “Excel Basics to Black Belt”, co-editor of “Strategic ERP Extension and Use”, the “Handbook of Research in Enterprise Systems”, the "Handbook of Behavioral Operations Management", and the forthcoming book “Visual Analytics for Management”.

Janet Hartley

2014 OSCM Distinguished Scholar

Janet Hartley, Bowling Green State U.

Janet is Professor and Director of the Supply Chain Management Institute at Bowling Green State University. She received her PhD from the University of Cincinnati in Business Administration. Prior to returning to graduate school she worked for the Clorox Co. in various roles in Research and Development. Dr. Hartley has published 30 refereed journal articles in journals such as the Journal of Operations Management, the Journal of Supply Chain Management, IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management and Business Horizons. Dr. Hartley has received outstanding associate editor awards from the Journal of Operations Management, the Journal of Supply Chain Management, and the Journal of Business Logistics. She has co-authored a textbook Managing Operations across the Supply Chain currently in its second edition and is the author of the 2nd Edition of the ISM Professional Series book Foundations of Supply Management. Dr. Hartley has assumed numerous leadership positions in Decision Sciences Institute and the Operations Management Division of the Academic of Management including serving as the OM Division Chair 2002-2003. Currently she is currently serving as the VP of Americas on the Decision Sciences Institute Board and has also served as Chair of the Department of Management at Bowling Green State University from 2002-2010.

Rob Klassen

2013 OSCM Distinguished Scholar

Robert D. Klassen, Ivey School of Business

Rob is a Professor of Operations Management and the Magna International Inc. Chair in Business Administration at the Ivey Business School, University of Western Ontario, Canada. In 2008-09, he also was appointed Visiting Professor at Vlerick Leuven Gent Management School in Belgium. Dr. Klassen’s research interests focus on exploring the linkages between operations and sustainability, including such areas as pollution prevention, operational risk and green supply chain management. Most recently, his research is exploring the social performance of supply chains and its verification. He has over three-dozen refereed publications in such journals as Journal of Operations Management, Management Science, Academy of Management Journal, Production and Operations Management, and other leading management journals.

Previous OSCM Distinguished Scholars

2012      Tom Choi (Arizona State U.)

               Keong Leong (California State U.)

2011      Morgan Swink (Texas Christian U.)

2010      Ken Boyer (Ohio State U.)

2009      Ram Narasimhan (Michigan State U.)

2008      Chris Voss (London Business School)

2007      Peter Ward (Ohio State U.)

2006      Aleda Roth (Clemson U.)

2005      Barbara Flynn (Wake Forest U.)

2004      Richard Chase (U. Southern California)

               Roger Schroeder (U. Minnesota)

2003      Chan Hahn (Bowling Green U.)

               Jack Meredith (Wake Forest U.)

               Linda Sprague (China Europe International)